DIY

DIY | Newborn Hospital Shadow Box

When my daughter was born I went home with all the random hospital items: blankets, signs, wristbands and a few other items from her NICU stay. I wanted to keep it all, but I didn’t want it to just sit in a box to never be seen again. So I did what every other person does, turn to Pinterest for ideas.

Then I found a Hospital Shadow Box and I knew this is something I can easily do!

Here is what I used and how I put it together.

Items I used:

IMG_6786A blanket from the hospital.

IMG_6787 This is a box filled with items from the hospital and I pick out what items I wanted to use.  (wristbands, measuring tape, blood pressure cuff and other random items)

IMG_6788  I used a newborn size onesie that Lily wore while in the NICU. Also, I included a picture of her wearing the onesie. This is one of my favorite pictures of her in the NICU. It’s a picture of mu husband feeding her and it shows just how tinny she was. You might use your child’s going home outfit.

IMG_6790

Shadow box big enough to fit all the items. This can easily be picked up at your craft store and make sure to use your 40% off or even 50% off coupons. It’s a steal when you do!

IMG_6845

Lastly,double sided tape.

Steps to build your shadowbox:

Step 1: The blanket I used as the backdrop in the shadow box. You can cut the blanket to fit, which might be easier. I ended up folding it under to make it fit.

IMG_6847

Step 2: Start to arrange everything on the blanket until you find a layout that you love that fits all your items.

I used her onesie, measuring tap (I put a heart on the measuring tape to indicate what her length was at birth so its not just a random measuring tape.), my wristband, Andrews wristband and her wristbands, one of her blood pressure cuffs, the sign that hung on her crib in the NICU, a picture, a sign that congratulated us on her birth and had all her stats listed, and a few other small items from the NICU.

IMG_6848

Step 3: Tape everything down.  Double sided tape worked great for me. The tape stuck  to the blanket and all the items.

Step 4:  Lastly, assemble the shadow box and find a place to hang it.

Hope this helped inspire you to make one! With baby number 2 on it’s way I will need to make another one soon!

Leave a Reply

